ex-vegetarianism

On July 1, after 14 years of being a vegetarian, I began eating meat again.  I know that a lot of people will be really surprised by this, because most people I know have only ever known me as a vegetarian.  It was a really hard decision and I struggled with it a lot.  It’s hard to give up something you’ve been doing for so long.  But, in the end, I think it was the right decision.

I wasn’t as passionate about vegetarianism as I used to be.  It’s a decision I made when I was 12.  I’ve also had a lot of trouble with my weight and have never been able to lose all the weight I gained when I was pregnant (35 lbs, which is on the very high end of what was “acceptable” to gain at the size I was).  In fact, my weight had begun to creep up further and further over the past several months.  It’s really hard, in my opinion, to eat well as a vegetarian when you don’t have a lot of money to put into it.  You end up eating a lot of boxed processed pastas and rices and stuff.  I’m now eating a sort of lower-carb diet, and I feel pretty good.  Eating meat is still really strange, but I’m slowly getting used to it.

So, anyway, there’s my big announcement.  I feel like I’m oversimplifying the whole thing, but I guess there really isn’t all that much to it.  Discuss if you’d like.

Please click the link to vote for me once per day on Top Mommy Blogs!

4 responses to “ex-vegetarianism

  1. funny you say about the weight thing. being on WW, then going vegie this year, i had even MORE trouble being healthy sticking to a vegetarian diet. i am eating chicken again for this reason. i was carb loading majorly when i stopped eating meat. it would be a different story if i lived somewhere with access to a whole range of vegetarian foods, and variety, but i don’t and like you said, not enough money to fund that anyway!!! good on you xox

    • We have plenty of the meat substitute type of foods (fake burgers and chicken nuggets, etc.) but they really are too expensive. It really is hard not to rely on carbs when you’re a vegetarian. I had been eating tons of pasta, rice, etc. since I was a kid, but I guess after having Jonah, my body just can’t handle it the same as it used to!

  2. Being such an animal lover, I love the idea of being a vegetarian. However, I have a very protein hungry body and I don’t think its possible for me to do. I do low carb kind of… whole grains (there are some great high fiber flatbreads in the bakery section of walmart) plenty of fruits, veggies, dairy,meat and beans. Just by doing that I’ve lost 20 lbs and rarely having cravings. If I add back sweets and refined grains I put on weight and hold water almost immediately. There are great deals on fresh food at aldi if you don’t already shop there. Good luck! Don’t worry about weight, just focus on health.

    • That’s the reason I initially became a vegetarian, and I still love animals and that’s why I really struggled with the decision. It’s such a weird and sad thought for me to be eating them, but I really probably wasn’t getting the nutrients I needed to and I always felt sluggish and tired. I’m hoping that by cutting the carbs the way I am, those feelings will go away. I’m doing the 2-week induction in Atkins, and then I think I can add in some Joseph’s pita bread and stuff like that. 🙂 We don’t usually shop at Aldi, but we really should check it out more often since it’s basically right down the street from us. Thanks!